ye olde dolphin 

Derby has been linked with a good pint of ale since the 17th century , till the Industrial Revolution malting & brewing were the towns main trades.

Three major breweries grew up in the town  - Offilers ,Strettons , & Altons.

There has always been plenty of ale houses in Derby in which to sample the local brew's , in fact it is said that in 1588 there was one Ale House to every forty people and by 1688 one ale house to every thirty people.

By 1633 Derby had an estimated population of 85,574 and around 541 places in which to drink in .

Within a 260 yard radius of St Mary's Gate there were 53 licensed premises in which to drink , most of these pubs had their own brewery on site.

Nowadays the St Mary's Gate has lost many of its old pubs due to redevelopments.

However one of the ancient Inns remains within walking distance of St Mary's Gate 

and that is Ye Olde Dolphin .

The Dolphin dates back to about 1530 A.D. ( in the time of Henry VIII) and some thirty years before potatoes and tobacco were introduced to the country.

This quaint picturesque pub stands at the junction of Queens Street  & Full Street part of which was known as Nanny Tags Lane.

The Dolphin did brew its own ale back in the day .

 It was also a place where Coaches would park outside , the folk would then use the Dolphin to quench their thirst before continuing their journey.

There are carpenters marks in the Attic of the pub that date back to the 16th century.

The Dolphin is also shown on Speeds Map of Derby dated 1610.